The Federal Office for Building and Regional Planning

ESPON 2020

European Spatial Planning Observation Network


The ESPON European Spatial Planning Observation Network was established in 2002 by the EU member states and the European Commission to improve the knowledge and information basic to the European spatial development policy. Besides the 28 EU member states, the neighbouring countries of Norway, Switzerland, Liechtenstein and Iceland participate in the programme. The programme is financed by the EU member states and the European Commission, that means by the European Regional Development Fund in the context of the "European Territorial Cooperation". During the programming period 2014-2020, a total of 49 million euros is earmarked for the implementation of the programme. ESPON 2020 continues the preceding ESPON 2006 and ESPON 2013 Programmes in supporting the European spatial development policy and developing political strategies with the aim to achieve territorial cohesion.

The ESPON Programme is supported by national institutions (ESPON Contact Points) acting as a go-between between the European ESPON Programme, the national research sector and the political and planning sector. The Federal Institute for Research on Building, Urban Affairs and Spatial Development is the national ESPON Contact Point for Germany.

More information

The newsletter of the ESPON EGTC informs about the latest activities and findings of ESPON. Interested persons may subscribe on the following ESPON EGTC webpage: Subscribe

This Page