The Federal Office for Building and Regional Planning

Research Project: People and Success Stories 2019


For the competition round 2019 under the motto "Livable town centres in rural areas" a total of 136 applications were submitted. The best projects were selected by a fourteen-member competition jury headed by The Secretary of State for Parliament, Marco Wanderwitz. The jury was in favour of eight prizes and an additional eight recognitions, which provide success-ful answers to pressing questions regarding demographic change and migration in rural areas.

The 16 selected projects were honoured at an official award meeting in the Federal Ministry of the Interior, Building and Community on December, the 16th 2019. The award ceremony was accompanied by an exchange of experiences in which the award winners discussed the topics of housing, volunteering and financing.

The awards in the topic 1 Developing what has been built - creating new quality:

  • The "Kulturring Störmede e. V.": Sustainable housing for everyone in different living situations.
  • "Deppisch Architekten GmbH": Senior-friendly housing and lived neighborhood in Schechen.
  • "Mobile Jugendarbeit und Soziokultur Weißwasser e. V.": Cultural offers against building vacancy.

The awards in the topic 2 Experience the public - enable encounter:

  • The "Waldbad Wittfeitzen e. V.": An old outdoor swimming pool is ecologically transformed into a meeting point.
  • The "Allgäuer Genussmanufaktur eG in Leutkirch": Food production returns to the centre of the town.
  • The "Heimatverein Pieskow e. V. in Friedland": An unused fallow area becomes a multifunctional community centre.

The awards in the topic 3 Creating frameworks - giving support:

  • The social development of the village of Berngau: A network takes on social and structural challenges.
  • The "Hofheimer Land e. V.": Seven municipalities have joined forces to reuse vacant buildings.

In addition, eight contributions were awarded with recognitions:

  • The architects Ruth and Ulrich Bunnemann for the Derz'sche Quartier in Güstrow.
  • The "Kulturkollektiv Goetheschule e. V." for the lighthouse in the forest in Lauscha.
  • The municipality of Kalletal for the DORF+punkt in Kalletal.
  • The support association Haus Ludgeri e. V. for the Café "Vergissmeinnicht" in Emsbüren.
  • The municipal library Peißen for the voluntary library in Peißen.
  • The municipality of Beilrode for the regional community and meeting centre of the "Heilandskirche" of Beilrode.
  • The town of Wittenberge for the Summer of Pioneers in Wittenberge.
  • "SelbstbestimmtLeben - GemeinsamWohnen e.V." in Hofgeismar for their housing project.

A presentation of the winners can be found here (german language).

This Page